Going into the censorship business

Yesterday, my blog got a record number of hits with my post about the debacle over at MSNBC.  I also got a record number of comments.  Most were positive, some negative.  I don’t mind negative comments.  I do not moderate comments on my blog.  That is, when someone enters a comment, it shows up straight away, not having to pass through me before it is approved for entry.  I like open discussion and believe that people’s intelligence will generate honest debate on issues I discuss here.

Unfortunately, I had to delete a couple of comments here yesterday.  One called me a bitch and one called Hillary Clinton a whore.  I did not contact the poster who called Hillary Clinton a whore.  So, if you’re reading this, sorry, but that was out of bounds, in line with David Shuster’s “pimping” comment that started this whole fiasco which was, I’m sure, your point.  It was still out of line and I won’t allow it.

I did email the person who posted the bitch comment.  I’m all for someone dissing me.  Bring it on.  But you may not use such a pejorative term.  I suggested other terms he (yes, I’m making an assumption that the poster was male … prove me wrong) could use and encouraged him to repost his comment minus the offensive term.  In fact, I’ll post it for him:

“There is no equal time laws for cable.  My god..if you are going to whine like a (bleep) about something, at least do some research to avoid looking foolish.”

There actually is an FCC fairness rule for cable TV and I encouraged this person, as I do you, dear reader, to look it up.  But that wasn’t my case in this blog, was it?  Did I call out the FCC fairness rules?  Did I cite the Discrimination clause?  Um, no. 

In any case, this person is free to diss me as much as he would like.  He just may not use the word “bitch” to do so.  Oh, and whore, cunt, douchebag, and all of their sisters are out, too.  I will stand up for women in my little corner of the cyberworld.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Going into the censorship business

  1. steviethek

    Unfortunately, the freedom that anonymity provides is liberty to the crude, cowardly types who would otherwise have to keep their bitter frustrations to themselves. Welcome to the dark side of blogging.

    That having been said, I think the judicious use of “douchebag” should be marginally acceptable🙂

    And that having been said, I think it’s inaccurate to refer to Hilary Clinton as a whore, since her husband’s actions place him far closer to the definition of the word.

  2. First off, I want to say that I enjoyed reading your last post, although I was the last to find out about it, so I didn’t get to leave a coment until you already made another post.

    I agree with your decision to sensor your comments. The fact is, you have to teach people how to treat you sometimes.

    I must also say that I don’t think David Shuster’s comments were that far out of line. The Clinton people clearly just used this to get some more air time, and needlessly destroyed a mans career in the process.

  3. This comment is about the two presidential candidates plans for healthcare. They both want to move in the direction of “universal coverage”, and both have clearly not considered the topic before they offered their plans.
    Two points:
    1. Most people in the USA have health insurance that provides better coverage than is available in other countries with so-called coverage.
    2. Go to Canada, and you discover that the so=called universal coverage does not cocer drugs unless the drug is prescribed in a hospital stay. Most Canadians have private , supplimentary plans from the employers that brings them almost to a level as good ad in the USA. They still must endure long delays in many instances.
    3. If the candidates want to create universal coverage, do it for the uninsured, but please don’t ruin it for the rest of us.
    4. I’ll share this anecdote. last December, I had pneumonia. I went to a doctor in Toronto, who recomended a CT scan as part of the diagnostic regime. Then he leaned over and recommended that I go to the USA for the scan, unless I was prepared to wait 3-4 weeks (by which time I maight have passed away!!). I went back aceoss the border and had the CT scan in 3 days (a weekend intervened), and was completely coveredwith my USA health insurance.
    4. BE VERY CAREFUL CANDIDATES, LEST YOU SCREW IT UP FOR MOST OF US WITH YOUR SEEMINGLY UNINFORMED REMARKS AND PLANS!!!

  4. Marie Fradin

    Try not shavelling so much snow in Toronto this year!!!
    Prevention for pneumonia……

Leave a Reply

