Rolling my eyes at Pat Buchanan

Despite my rant about MSNBC, old habits die hard and I found myself watching Morning Joe this morning.  That and there’s nothing else worth a darn out there to watch in the morning before my children get up and I’m forced to watch “Magic Schoolbus.”  I digress.

Me:  sitting on the couch with a cup of tea.  Pat Buchanan:  (paraphrase) Barack Obama’s only getting 24% of the white vote.  He’s got to do something about that.  Me:  Damn, I wish I had TiVo.

Really?  Did Pat Buchanan just put more lighter fluid on the race bonfire or was it just my imagination?  No, I really did hear it.  24%.  Ok, he may have said 25%.  But it’s all the same.

I did some math.  I went to FOX so no one could accuse me of following a liberal media bias and used their exit poll numbers.  OK, really I used them because they have a straight white / black tally instead of a nuanced white-age-sex breakdown like CNN and, to a less complicated extent, MSNBC.  But the liberal media bias was a good line, wasn’t it?  Anyway, I tallied up the white vote for all the states available and came up with this grand averaged value:  36.64%.  That’s a good 12 points higher than Pat’s 24% – 25%.  12 points.  That Mt. Kilimanjaro in politics.

Look, Pat’s been around a long time and I’m sure he’s a nice guy.  He must know something because MSNBC has him on all_the_time.  What he doesn’t know is math or stats or how to read polls, apparently.  And that old pol can’t have much power or status anymore if the only table at which he can find a constant seat is that of a cable TV news outlet. 

I could fire off (yet another) letter to MSNBC about Pat’s (theoretically inadvertent) error, but I think I’d rather just sit on my couch with my cup of tea and roll my eyes at him.  That’s probably all he’s worth anyway. 

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Rolling my eyes at Pat Buchanan

  1. Robyn

    When all else fails and Obama is succeeding…the media plays the “race card” because it is so convenient and makes for good narrow minded TV.

    There are some groups with a vested interest in our country being red vs. blue, instead of the UNITED STATES OF AMERICA– a purple country!

  2. jrw34

    You are right about Buchanan. The man is trying his best to get HRC to run against McCain. He’ll stir up any pot to get her in. His comments are laughable and are meant to get a response. They might as well just have Karl Rove sitting next to him saying the HRC is the one to beat in the fall. Talk about a plant. Even the other pundits laugh at Pat…he’s very silly.

  3. Pingback: Oh, why does the Democratic party need activists anyway? « Ashpolitics’ Weblog

Leave a Reply

