Back Open for Business

After a long hiatus, AshPolitics is back open for business.  I don’t know if anyone out there is here to read it, but I’m hoping I’ll bring some folks back on the train along the way.

So where did I go?  Well, I went to FL.  Back in February, my family and I took a trip to the land of Mickey.  For one full week, I unplugged.  I paid zero … that’s absolutely no … attention to politics for an entire week.  I missed primaries.  Primaries!! for heaven’s sake.  Up to that point, I had worked just over one solid year, every day, on the Barack Obama campaign as a volunteer on his Rapid Response team.  I was in deep, getting and responding to sometimes over 200 emails a day.  I was digging, hanging with the cool kids on Daily Kos, watching Chris Matthews religiously, and generally following everything politics I could find.  I was eating, breathing, and sleeping the Democratic primary.  And then I went to FL and exhaled.

On my return, I realized that the Democratic primary was making me nauseous.  The infighting, the racism, the negativity.  I had begun the process as an Obama supporter with tremendous respect for the Clintons and the legacy of President Clinton.  I had reached the point where the campaign they were running made me embarassed to be a Democrat.  I could no longer face the circular firing squad that was the Democratic primary.  And so I unplugged.

Before I unplugged, I was invited to blog on a friend and fellow Obama supporter’s blog, Zennie’s Zeitgeist.  Zennie is not only a dedicated Obama supporter, but a lifelong dedicated Democrat and, it turns out, a stalwart friend.  His blog was credentialled for the 2008 Democratic National Convention and, being the guy he is, he’s taking those of us who blog on his site along with him.  That’s not something one says, “no” to and it has dragged me back into the world of political blogging.

It’s also easier, admittedly, to reenter this world now that the Democratic nomination has been settled.  Senator Clinton will address her supporters tonight, finally concede, and endorse Senator Obama, promising to do everything she can to help him win in November.  I’ll have to gather my strength to blog later regarding my opinions on whether or not (not) he should take her on the ticket as VP, but at least she’s finally ceding the battle space and coming on board as a general.  Being here to blog pro-Obama and not anti-Clinton will be sweet relieif.

So now let’s turn our focus to November.  This is Obama v. McCain, Dems v. Republicans.  Let the battle begin.  It’s nice to be back. 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

