The Clintons need to go away

I’m gonna get into hot water for this post.  But it’s 5 am, CST, I’ve been up for hours, I’m living in a hotel with a four year old and a seven year old, and maybe I’ve lost enough of my mind not to care.  If you see me on the floor in Denver and I try to discuss something with you and you’re an HRC supporter, please talk to me anyway.  I’m really a nice person.  But I’ve just had it with the Clintons.

Let me say that when Bill did his thing (you know what I mean), I defended him.  I loved Bill Clinton.  I loved his Presidency.  My thinking then was that I didn’t give a rat’s ass what he did in his personal life.  That was between him and his wife.  When he lied about it, though, I cared, because that reflected his ethics and I do think those are important for a President.  But I do think that he’s one of the smartest men on the planet (intellectually) and was a fantastic President.

I’ve never been able to stand Hillary, not as a First Lady, not as a Senator.  Why?  Who knows.  I have friends in New York who love her because she’s been a great Senator for them and I have to respect that.  I do think that she is extraordinarily smart and extremely capable.  Were she our party’s nominee, I would have supported her whole heartedly.  I do think she would have made, and maybe someday will make, an excellent President.

But right now, Bill and Hill need to go away.  I am so tired of all of the negotiations, the tip toeing, the figuring out of how to make them happy at the Convention.  I’m tired of the two-step the Obama campaign is having to do to make Bill and Hill satisfied with their roles.  This is his time.  They need to get over it.

I read this morning that Bill is getting speaking time on Wednesday before the Veep speaks.  I’m sure the party faithful will love to hear Bill, but Obama should not have *had* to concede this time to Bill, giving the Clintons more face time at the Convention.  I’m positive that I heard a week or so ago that HRC was not going to submit her name for nomination at the Convention.  Yesterday, however, I read that she’s still not sure and her supporters are still demanding that she does so they can be heard.  Chicks, you’ve been heard loud and clear.  You all need to get over it, too.  If you’re desperate to hear her and spend time with her, there’s an EMILY’s List fundraiser on Tuesday, 8/24 at the Sheraton in Denver and for as little as $50 you can have HRC, Pelosi and Michelle. 

Getting back to Hillary, herself, I’m tired of her non-committal crap.  On a discussion on her website yesterday, she danced around the nomination issue and the VP issue.  Just commit to bowing out, please.  You know that it’s the right thing to do for the party.  You know that the party, for the sake of unity, needs you to simply say that you won’t submit your name.  Then the media can get over this “subterranean grumbling” line (I swear I just heard this on CNN).  Yes, your die hard supporters will be pissed, but, honestly, nothing will ever help them see the light.  As Obama said, “”We’re not talking to those people ….”

This is Obama’s time.  Had Hillary won the nomination, it would be her time and I know that Obama would have had the grace to step aside and let her have it.  Now she needs to do the same.  She gets her night at the Convention to speak and be front and center.  That needs to be the end of it.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “The Clintons need to go away

  1. I agree completely — and this is all getting very old. My take, written on the moring of her withdrawl speech as called “Being Rid of Hillary”, but we are not yet, are we.

Leave a Reply

