Haiti

CARE’s email to me this morning requesting donations to help Haiti, the poorest nation in the Western Hemisphere, recover from a series of storms that have further devastated that nation reminded me of a book I read years ago that profoundly impacted my view of my place in this world:

The book is the story of Dr. Paul Farmer, founder of Partners in Health, who made it his mission to provide medical care to the poorest of the poor in Haiti.  He has since expanded that mission to other poor nations in the world.  I encourage you to read his book.  Here’s a short bit from him on service:

1 Comment

Filed under World Health

One response to “Haiti

  1. Pingback: Help stop the spread of TB « AshPolitics

Leave a Reply

