Breaking my promise to myself

I sort of made this promise to myself that I would not, no way, no how, blog on Sarah Palin _at all_.  She makes me insane and I love to write about things that make me insane, as y’all know.  But I figure she’s wasted space.  She’s not qualified.  Let me say that again:  SHE’S NOT QUALIFIED.  Really, that’s all that needs to be said. 

But then two things happened in the Katie Couric interview that were just so astounding that I couldn’t control myself and, well, here we are.

1.  She could not name a single Supreme Court decision save Roe v. Wade.  I mean, really?  Not Brown v. Board of Ed?  Not Dred Scott?  Not Plessy v. Ferguson.  I mean, for heaven’s sake, these are the ones *most* people learn in school.  These are not “stump the candidate” decisions.  I would bet that almost anyone at KFC on Thursday night could name at least one of these.  But not Sarah, God bless her.

2.  She could not name a single major newspaper and credit herself for reading it.  Katie asked her which newspapers she read and she said, “Um, all of ’em, any of them that have been put in front of me ….”  She couldn’t even lie.  No shout out to the New York Times, the Washinton Post, the Boston Globe … not even to the Anchorage Daily News.  Hell, Katie asked about magazines, too, and Sarah couldn’t even mention People.  Or, heaven forbid, Newsweek or Time.  Or Vogue, which might explain the shoe phenomenon.  How ridiculous is it that we might have a VP who doesn’t read?  We’ve lived with eight years of … well, you know.

**Update:  I love how the Republican pundits are spinning this, calling Katie Couric’s question to Palin about what she reads a “gotcha” question.  Are you kidding me?  If that’s a “gotcha,” then what, exactly, will be easy enough for her to handle at the debate?  Maybe “What color do red and blue make?”  My four year old can answer it.  Can Palin?**

Leave a comment

Filed under Sarah Palin

Leave a Reply

