I’m buying beans

Yeah, pretty much.  I’m buying beans.  And rice.  And ramen.  And I think I’ll pull out that sewing machine and finally learn to use it.  I’m not kidding.  I’m freaking out.

The market fell an astounding 678.91 points today, putting us down about 40% from where we were this time LAST YEAR.  We dropped over 7% TODAY.  I’m not one to freak out about these things, y’all … really, I’m not … but I’m now officially freaking out.

GM hit its lowest in 60 years and is facing a possible credit downgrade.

Oil prices are the lowest they’ve been this year.  OPEC is planning an emergency meeting in November to deal with decreasing demand.

Let’s ask ourselves this, please:  who do we want dealing with this come January?  Do we want someone who graduated third from the bottom of his class at the Naval Academy (that would be McCain) or a Harvard Law graduate (Magna Cum Laude) who was President of the Law Review?  Hmmm …. lemme think.  That’s just not a contest.  I’ll take the intellectual (yeah, Obama) ANY … DAY.  And do I want a VP who went to four different colleges before squeaking through or someone who made it through the University of Delaware with a double major in history and political science?  Gee willikers, that’s a hard one!  Come on ….

When, pray tell me, did it become a crime in this country to be smart?  When did we decide that being visceral was preferable to being intellectual?  Do you see that bomb up there?  That’s your retirement and my kids’ college savings and maybe even our jobs.  We need someone with brains to deal with this.  We need a team of people who know more than we do, who are smarter than we are, who, frankly, are too damn smart to sit in a bar and have a beer with the likes of us to deal with this mess.  We don’t need John and Sarah, we need Obama and Biden.

1 Comment

Filed under The Economy

One response to “I’m buying beans

  1. Pingback: Further into the Twilight Zone: David Brooks and I agree « AshPolitics

Leave a Reply

